Publicado: Mar, Octubre 24, 2017
Deporte | By Armando Espinosa

Ronaldo leads Real Madrid's FIFA awards triumph

Ronaldo leads Real Madrid's FIFA awards triumph

The Real Madrid striker has earned an incredible £70 million in the last year, along with picking up another Champions League medal and becoming the inaugural winner of The Best Fifa Men's Player award.

He scored twice in a 4-1 win over Juventus in the continental final at Cardiff's Millennium Stadium on June 3.

No doubt Ronaldo's record of only one goal scored in five La Liga matches is in part responsible for Real Madrid's underwhelming start to the season.

The following months brought more swings and roundabouts for Ronaldo.

- Neymar is enjoying his time here- But is he going to be the best? Real Madrid supporters, my teammates, my coach, they support all the year so I have to say thank you to them.

Do you think Ronaldo deserves to lift the highest individual award in world football for his performances in 2016/17?

The Portuguese was in tremendous form towards the end of last season, scoring 10 goals in Real's last five 2016/17 Champions League games - five against Bayern Munich in the quarter-final, three against Atletico Madrid in the semi-final and a brace against Juventus' resilient defence in the decider.

"For me, I am very happy because it is a great honour to receive this my age".

The 32-year-old, who was presented the award by icons Diego Maradona and Ronaldo, said: "Thank you for voting for me".

The XI also included FIFA's goalkeeper of the year, Gianluigi Buffon.

In defense it's Dani Alves (Brazil, Juventus/currently Paris Saint-Germain), Leonardo Bonucci (Italy, Juventus/currently AC Milan), Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid) and Marcelo (Brazil, Real Madrid).

The goalkeeper is Gianluigi Buffon of Italy and Juventus.

FIFA has shifted its award ceremony from its usual January slot to October so players are judged across a season - based on the typical European schedule - rather than the calendar year.

Buffon guided Juve to a sixth consecutive Serie A title and managed 600 Champions League minutes without conceding a goal.

Monday also saw the Puskas Award for the best goal of 2017 go to Arsenal's Olivier Giroud. The Club World Cup, U-20 World Cup and the Confederations Cup are showcased.

Barcelona's Lionel Messi and PSG's Neymar was named in the FIFA XI too.

Me gusta esto: